Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

NinjaTrader 8 update (trail) stop based on conditions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

NinjaTrader 8 update (trail) stop based on conditions

Hi,

I have just registered to this forum, please don't scream at me I am a software developer by a day job and joined the vendor program with NT. I see that this branch says NinjaTrader 7 ... is there actually NinjaTrader 8 section or they are similar and everything is here?

I've messed around strategy builder to get familiar but that got old quickly. I see how working with actual code would be lot faster to do iterations and updates. Given it is only couple hundred lines and copy/paste is lot more effective than trying to navigate in the builder (well, easier for developers maybe).

Could someone give me an example of the C# code for the following logic, so I can understand the syntax and the structure better.

I've entered Long position on some conditions and set stop to say 100 points. Then I watch it and after it is 50 points in the profit I update my stop loss to the low of the bar 5 bars ago providing it is higher than my entry. Then repeat after every additional 50 points ... look 5 bars back from the current bar, find its low and set new stop to that low if it is higher than previously set stop.

What would that look like for short trade (flip it, so I completely get it)

I plan to be quite active here and willing to help other developers as I learn. I have several years as developer, mostly JS but some C# as well. I like to learn from examples.

Thanks a lot
    xcoder
    NinjaTrader Ecosystem Vendor - EMS

Hello Xcoder,