Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Indicator availability in Strategy Builder

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Indicator availability in Strategy Builder

Hi there. I have built an indicator and it works fine on chart but in trying to incorporate it into a strategy built inside the wizard it does not appear in the list of choices. I'm still a bit of a newbie here in programming yet I can't find some obvious example of a state, declaration, method, etc. in other indicators that DO appear in the strategy builder list of choices when building out a conditional set. What need I add to the code in order to access it in the strategy builder?
    Again, it DOES appear in the list of indicator choices when pulled from the chart and plots precisely as desired...

My intent is to add a boolean on the same condition that fires the chart visual plot so that the If/Then conditional environment in this case = True.

Thanx
    JM
    Last edited by johnMoss; 11-23-2021, 03:37 PM.

Hi John, thanks for posting.

The indicator must add at least on Plot using the AddPlot() method or expose a public Series<T>. Here is an example of a public bool Series:

Best regards,
    -ChrisL

Chris L.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Thanks Chris

Comment

Hi John, sorry but I mispoke. The strategy builder can only read Plots from an indicator. To simulate a boolean plot, you can make a plot (AddPlot) in the indicator that gets assigned to Value[0] = 0 for false and Value[0] = 1 for true, that plot can be read from the builder.

Best regards,
        -ChrisL

Comment

Copy that thanx for the heads up.. I'll give it a shot ...

Comment