Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

How to add an indicator to an indicator?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to add an indicator to an indicator?

Hi All,

I am brand new to Ninja Trader and particularly the programming. I was wondering if there is anyone that can help me out. I am looking for an indication that is used by Dr. Elder. it is the Force index but it has a Keltner 3xATR overlaid onto it. I can find the force index and I can find the Keltner Channel Indicator but I can't seem to figure out how to combine the two together.

Also, The final indicator I am after uses a variable EMA for the Force Index and there is only one. The standard Force Index has two SMA's. The Keltner Channel only needs to show the upper and lower bands. The middle band is not required.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide on this.

Hello Kaiviti,

Do you have a source of this indication for comparison?

Does the Force index use the Keltner calculations in its foruma or is it just for plotting?
    Cal H.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Indicator Source

Cal, the source is the pdf put out by Dr. Alexander Elder called "Step-by-Step Trading". The Keltner channel is plotted on top of the 13 bar Force index and is a 26 period, 3 x ATR.

Comment

Kaiviti,

Thank you for your note.

You would want to just add the Keltner to the chart but change the input series for it to use the ForceIndex for its calculations.

Right click on the Chart -> Indicators... -> Add the Keltner Channel -> Change Input Series -> Select your new ForceIndex (that you would have created) -> Click OK and OK to save and exit the window.
        Cal H.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment