Incorporating other software with NinjaTrader? Options & News

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Incorporating other software with NinjaTrader? Options & News

I’ve been using Ninjatrader for a couple of years now and overall I’ve been very happy with the software. I use it entirely algorithmically (I have a day job that isn’t trading so I’ve needed a system that I can set-off and leave alone all day). I’m now running up against two limitations, so hoping to ask if the community here has used any workarounds to overcome them (want to avoid looking at other platforms if I can).

Automated trading of Options.
    Currently NinjaTrader can’t trade options in an automated manner. Today I’m buying/selling the underlying equity stock then try to manually buy an option. Most often I’m not by the computer so this doesn’t work out. I’m wondering if there is any workaround that anyone has tried? I’m thinking of perhaps writing to a text file from NinjaTrader and having another program monitor it, then buy the option via that program (likely a custom program that buys via the interactive brokers API).

News trading.
    I want to start analyzing news events and parsing for sentiment or even presence of specific keywords and phrases (eg “gained FDA approval”) and incorporate it into my algorithm. The problem is that NinjaTrader only has two sources for real-time news: kinetic and iqfeed. While I have a data feed from iqfeed, the news options aren’t great (not the best sources, and they have a lot of latency vs ‘proper’ news feeds like Bloomberg or Dow Jones news). Has anyone found any workarounds for integrating alternative news feeds into their algorithms?

Again I’m thinking of perhaps having a separate program for parsing high quality news feeds, and dropping updates into a text file that NinjaTrader monitors.

If anyone has had any joy extending beyond NinjaTrader in either space I’d love to hear how you did it.

Thanks in advance

ChainsawDR