Futures quantity in demo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Futures quantity in demo

Hello, I'm completely new to ninjatrader and I installed demo version to try it out. Previously I've been using Plus500 and there max quantity of assets I was able to buy was depending on amount of money I have which is logical, but in ninjatrader even when I set my account at 1000$ I can set the quantity of in this case MES to for example 100k and go for proft or loss like 1000000 in minute. How does it work, I mean I see something is wrong but am I doing someting wrong? Can somebody please explain to me why ninjatrader is not blocking trade even when I'm buying much more than I should? Thanks.
    Last edited by slow21; 02-04-2022, 08:54 AM.

Hello slow21,

Thank you for your message.

This is because the Sim101 account doesn't have any Risk Template associated with it which will allow you to set a Max Position Size for any specific Instruments. When you are live trading, this is dictated by your broker, but you may set a customized Risk Template for your account using the steps below, along with a Commissions template, to have your Sim Trading be as realistic as possible.

Commission and Risk Templates

To add Commission and Risk Templates to your Accounts, you may follow the steps below:
    • Go to the Control Center > Accounts window
    • Right-click on your Account > select 'Edit Account'
    • Select your template from the Commission or Risk drop-down menus
    • Click 'OK' to save and apply

Please keep in mind that Risk Templates cannot be applied to live trading accounts as this is managed by the broker. Commissions will be applied retroactively to past orders, however, any new orders you place will have Commissions applied once a template is selected.

If you do not see a Commission or Risk template that fits your needs, you may create a Custom Template from the Control Center > Tools > Commissions / Risk windows.