Strategy Analyzer backtest seems to do nothing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Strategy Analyzer backtest seems to do nothing

When I run strategy Analyzer on any of the very simple ninjascript strategies I've written, nothing happens. No chart, no data, no errors in the error log.

Almost all of the built in strategies do this. The only strategy I have seen work is Sample MA crossover which does work. I have connected to both my brokerage, kinetick, a simulated data feed.

I can pull up charts for these instruments for this period of time. I can run backtests for the same instruments / periods with Sample MA crossover. When I try to run my strategy it looks like it runs, but it just shows nothing in the analysis, summary, chart, etc.

I am new to Ninjatrader, so I suspect I am doing something wrong. I have googled a dozen similar posts and tried to follow the advice there.

I seemed to have gotten it working, sort of.

Comment

Hello Gathem,

Thanks for your post and welcome to the NinjaTrader Forums!

Glad to hear you have it working.

If you need further assistance on this subject, "Strategy Analyzer backtest seems to do nothing" please post again.

If you have questions not related to the subject, you are welcome to create further new topics, in the relevant forum.

You can write into PlatformSupport[at]Ninjatrader[dot]Com instead of posting if you would like assistance (we just ask that you do not both post and write in on the same topic (duplication of effort)
      Paul H.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

Hi
        At times when i backtest nothing happens, i can say by looking at the screen no backtest is happening, why does this happen?
        Attached Files

Comment

Hello honest-trader,

Thanks for your post.

The first step would be to check that there are no errors related to the strategy in the "Log" tab of the Ninjatrader control center. Any errors would need to be addressed.