Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Combining indicators?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Combining indicators?

Hello everyone, I am very new to NinjaTrader. I managed to put together a simple indicator that plots up and down arrows on the chart when the stochastic indicator crosses its top or bottom zones. My trouble is that I want these arrows to plot only if a candle also goes above or below bollinger bands. What would be the best way to go about this? I don’t understand how to combine the ninjascript from two seperate indicators. I started working on this using the stochastic code. From what I can gather, I may be able to call info from another indicator via the ninjascript... but I think it would be best to combine two indicators together since I will eventually make them transparent so that only the arrows actually appear on the chart. Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Hello augustfay,

Thanks for your post and welcome to the Ninjatrader forums!

You can call the method (Bollinger) directly in your code if you wish. I would suggest looking at the examples in the help guide here: https://ninjatrader.com/support/help...nger_bands.htm

As you can see, you can call the Bollinger directly with Bollinger(2, 20).Upper[0]; the 2 & 20 relate to the inputs of the Bollinger which are the number of standard deviations and the period. The Bollinger indicator offers three plots and in the example, it is using the Upper plot and the index of [0] is the current value of the upper band. You can also access the Middle band and the Lower band, like this: Bollinger(2.20).Middle[0] Bollinger(2,20).Lower[0].