Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Help with resources for first indicator

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with resources for first indicator

I am a lifelong programmer and trader but just bought ninjatrader. I feel confident enough now to start my hand at scripting and have some free time so thought I'd give it a go. I would love some pointers to getting started!

I thought I'd start with one I do as my first for most platforms (my hello world if you will), a basic rubber band reversion to the mean trade.
    I have developed this for ThinkorSwim and Worden TC2000 so I feel confident I can accomplish this, platform allowing:

Black is English of what I want, blue is the Thinkorswim code I would use. I already use bar color changes for things, but do not use arrows on any bars - so that seems perfect for my indicator

Bearish Signal
    The 50 SMA is less than the 50 SMA one bar ago (downtrend according to my methods)
    SMA(50) < SMA(5)[1]
    Bar closes with real body above the 50 SMA.
    Close > 50 SMA
    Stochastic(k 5, d 3, smooth 2) %K > 80
    Stochastick(5,3,2).FullK > 80
    Stochastic(k 5, d 3, smooth 2) %D > 55
    Stochastick(5,3,2).FullD > 55

Bullish Signal
    The 50 SMA from one bar ago is greater than the 50 SMA on the current bar (uptrend according to my methods)
    SMA(50) < SMA(5)[1]
    The current bar closes with real body below the 50 SMA.
    Close > 50 SMA
    Stochastic(k 5, d 3, smooth 2) %K < 20
    Stochastick(5,3,2).FullK < 20
    Stochastic(k 5, d 3, smooth 2) %D < 45
    Stochastick(5,3,2).FullD < 45

(off my head, not cut and pasted, so could have mistake)