Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

NinjaScript Error in New Indicator

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

NinjaScript Error in New Indicator

Hello,

I'm attempting to develop a simple indicator, but I'm new to NinjaScript and to C# and have an error that has me stuck and that I need help with.

The purpose of the indicator is to draw simple horizontal lines with specific colors, styles and widths when a button on the chart is pressed.

I draw these buttons by hand each day when I arrive at a chart to mark off certain support and resistance levels and other such things on the different time-frames that I trade and drawing them by hand for each market that I trade takes too long.

I want to be able to have the indicator instantly draw all the horizontal lines that I need formatted in the way where I can quickly recognize what each one is for, so that all I have to do is re-position them on my charts.

Screenshots attached. The orange boxes show code that I added. The red box shows code that I added which is giving me the error message.

The .cs file for this indicator is also attached.

Please assist and advise.

Thanks,

i2w8am9ii2
    Attached Files

Hello i2w8am9ii2,

Thanks for your post.

You will want to create a class level bool variable that you set to true when the button is clicked. Example: private bool buttonIsClicked = false;

You already have a private method for detecting when the button is clicked so this (below) is where you would set the bool to be true.

private void MyDrawButtons1_Click(object sender, RoutedEventArgs rea)
    {
    System.Windows.Controls.Button button = sender as System.Windows.Controls.Button;
    if (button != null)