Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Idea: The Smart Take Profit - Limit Take Profit Trap

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Idea: The Smart Take Profit - Limit Take Profit Trap

After a take profit price is reached, the price often moves further in the trade direction. As a trader, my goal is to be sold at least at this price or better. What I definitely don't want is not to be sold. Especially if i work with a couple more of contracts.

If I set a limit order as a take profit at this point, then the price runs against it in the direction of the trade and I may not be filled or not completely filled.
    However, prices can only rise or fall if the contracts run empty at the corresponding price levels and the next price level is reached.

If it were possible to place a limit order when the price reaches the penultimate price (for example, a tick lower), and after the limit order is in the market, follows behind the price in the direction of the ttrade, then the price could not move back again unless my order is filled. With the trailing stop style, I may even benefit from better prices.

Smart Limit Take Profit:
    1. the take profit becomes the trigger. If the price is reached, the limit order is set as a take profit at the previous price. There is a general possibility to determine how much earlier the limit order (gap to price) should be set.
    2. If my order is not filled, the limit order will be trailed in trailing stop style. I can specify the interval at which this should happen (Distance to price)
    3. as a safeguard, if exactly my price level is exceeded when the order move up, the order is closed as a market order in exactly this case.