Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Tweaking a Strategy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tweaking a Strategy

Hello,

This is my first time posting a question so you'll have to excuse me if I accidentally leave out some relevant information.

I have a strategy that is essentially a simple stochastic cross over strategy. I'd like to preface the code by saying that it might look goofy. That is because I was really hacking around trying to get it to behave as desired. Here is some code:

Code:
    /// <summary>
            /// This method is used to configure the strategy and is called once before any strategy method is called.
            /// </summary>
            protected override void Initialize()
            {
                CalculateOnBarClose = true;
    			ExitOnClose = false;                       // We do not want to exit on close
    			Add(Stochastics(periodD, periodK, smooth));// We want to see the Stochastics on the chart  	
            }

/// <summary>
            /// Called on each bar update event (incoming tick)
            /// </summary>
            protected override void OnBarUpdate()
            {
    			// If we're flat, just get us in the market
    			if(Position.MarketPosition == MarketPosition.Flat)
    			{
    				EnterShort();
    			}

// If the D value of the stochastic has crossed above our topThrs
    			if( CrossAbove(Stochastics(periodD,periodK,smooth).D,(double) topThrs, 1))
    			{	
    				// Next amount to long by will be 1
    				j=1;
    				// Trigger OnPositionUpdate
    				Position.Close();
    				// Next amount to short will be the current amount + 1
    				i++;	
    			}