Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1 second frequency backtest

Hi,

I am new to ninja trading, but I spent quite a few years backtesting ideas.

I am interested in 1 second frequency for my FX c# models to be deployed in ninja trading+Interactive Brokers.

I am wondering if it's a frequency that could be implemented/handled/captured in ninja trading (I am aware that IB has 250 ms time stamp) for backtest.

Thanks

Hello,

Thank you for your post and welcome to our forums!

It would be technically possible to run a strategy on real-time IB data at a 1 second interval, however please note that we build 1 second data from historical tick data, and at this time, Interactive Brokers does not provide historical tick data to build second charts.

Chart bars will however be built as time passes so if you left NinjaTrader running with an open chart for 60 minutes you would have a 1 minute chart with an hour of historical data on it.

Please let me know if you have any questions.
    MatthewNinjaTrader Product Management

Comment

Originally posted by NinjaTrader_Matthew View Post
      Hello,

Thank you for your post and welcome to our forums!

It would be technically possible to run a strategy on real-time IB data at a 1 second interval, however please note that we build 1 second data from historical tick data, and at this time, Interactive Brokers does not provide historical tick data to build second charts.

Chart bars will however be built as time passes so if you left NinjaTrader running with an open chart for 60 minutes you would have a 1 minute chart with an hour of historical data on it.

Please let me know if you have any questions.
      Do you know brokers who provide 1 sec data information? or I should use a data vendor like kinetic for real time data? What's the optimized solution in ninja trader?