newbie trying to collect data

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

newbie trying to collect data

Hi Im new to ninjatrader and need a little help adjusting from MT4 . I checked out the Data section of the help guide and didnt find what I need.

So basically, I connect to kinetick and open a chart and only see a few days worth of intraday data (15 & 30 min). I can access more historical data if I go up to daily weekly, etc data but I would like to have my chart show 15 and 30min data for more than a few days as well. Is it supposed to be like that? Im used to metatrader where intraday data is freely available for as far back as I would ever need. How can I accomplish this? Do I have to change a setting or do I need to start collecting the data myself and then importing it?

If so (if i must start collecting it), I know the format for FX minute data would be:
    yyyyMMdd HHmmss;open price;high price;low price;close price;volume

and the file format: $EURUSD.Ask.txt

but how would I get it into the text file to begin with. Im no expert programmer so if collecting data involves a programmatic solution please try to explain it in simple language. Thank you.

EDIT: I also noticed the Market Replay feature this sounds like exactly what I need but it this not available in the free version? Im still trying to develop my strategies and program them so Im not currently interested in a full license. Is there an alternative?
    Last edited by parliament718; 07-12-2011, 02:17 PM.

Hello,

Thanks for the forum post and welcome to the NinjaTrader forums!

So I can answer your question fully. Are you using the kinetick free connection or the kinetick paid connection?

I look forward to assisting you further.

Comment

Thank you for your reply.
      Im using the free connection.

Comment

Hello,

It is my pleasure.