Crashes on cache memory limit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Crashes on cache memory limit

I have been working with NT7 for over 6 months. The only reliable way to backtest and optimize a strategy is by using tick data (unless you calculate on bar close). However, because NT relies on the .NET framework to cache all price data into memory, which NT never clears even after a strategy is disabled/cleared, the memory quickly maxes out and causes NT to crash after brief testing. As my strategies have evolved a bit I am now at a point where I can only test a few times before NT crashes or I have to restart it.

my questions:
    1) Does any of the NT community actually backtest/optimize their strategies? or do people really only use NT for custom charting? If so has this issue never been a concern as NT is now in its 7th generation???

2) Can I expect to find the ability to clear the cache to be added anytime soon or should I just stop wasting my time and find a platform that is actually tested and reliable for automated trading and testing?

3) Is it possible to backtest/optimize without caching all price data?

Hello nightriderx,

For sure backtesting large amounts of tick data can tax your memory. There are currently no plans to add a cache clearing feature but you should be able to release memory by closing the strategy analyzer window.
    Ryan M.NinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

What about just regular enabling of strategies to trade live with historical data? Or is that just not recommended to backtest in regular control center mode?

Comment

Hello nightriderx,

Yes – you can enable trading strategies to trade live with historical data. You may want to see if at some level you begin to experience performance issues; e.g. when having enabled multiple charts, requiring large amounts of historical tick data – or something along those lines.