Getting started w/optimization

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting started w/optimization

I'm new to optimization w/NT and I'm looking to use the default and genetic optimizers on some existing custom strategies. I have 3 questions in getting started:

1) Do all parameters to be optimized need to be declared as type int?

2) For get/set must parameters first be declared as private (i.e., fast) and then in Properties as public (i.e., Fast) as is done in the SampleMACrossOver strategy?

3) If a strategy has 10 parameters but I only want to optimize 5 of them is it required that only the 5 to be optimized are included in Properties? Are there any other considerations when combining parameters that are to be optimized w/params that will not be optimized?

Thx,
    Lou

Hello,

Thank you for your forum post.

1) They would need to be a double or int to optimize them.

2) It is best to replicate the SampleMACrossOver in this reguard with parameters.

3) You can select what parameters you want to be optimized, by default unless you change the optimize range for a parameter when you run a optimize run it will run the same as a backtest with default parameters.

Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Comment

Originally posted by NinjaTrader_Brett View Post
      Hello,

Thank you for your forum post.

1) They would need to be a double or int to optimize them.

2) It is best to replicate the SampleMACrossOver in this reguard with parameters.

3) You can select what parameters you want to be optimized, by default unless you change the optimize range for a parameter when you run a optimize run it will run the same as a backtest with default parameters.

Re: 3) How do I select what parameters I want optimized (you mentioned this in 3) above) ?

FWIW, my plan is to get started w/the SampleMACrossOver strategy and then add a few parameters to it until I get comfortable enough with the features to try it on my own strategy.

Comment

Hello,