Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Strategy Analyzer

Hi,
    Is there a way to back test an existing strategy ? I did not see that option in the menus, but I am new at this. I would like to run some of the gentic optimizers others were so kind to share.
    Thanks

Widgetman, just open the Strategy Analyzer and right click on the market you wish to test on and the select either BackTest / Optimize / WalkForward as test procedure - http://www.ninjatrader-support.com/H...AStrategy.html

In upcoming backtest properties window you can then select which strategy to run.
    BertrandNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

No backtest/optimize/walkforward window

When create the strategy analyzer window....it comes up normally. If I select a "futures" contract it displays it in the chart windows.

If I follow the directions for optimization, I right click on the contract and then click optimize. When I do this, a little tiny tab on the right says optimize, but there is no options for setting anything, it is just a tab.

Same for the other two options.

Any ideas.

P.S. Can you use hybrid renko bars or third party bars in doing an optimize session....if I ever have an opportunity to use it!

Comment

Hello idissinger,

Thank you for your post.

When you right click on the instrument > select Backtest > what strategy is listed in the Strategy drop down menu? If you select the SampleMACrossOver do you see the settings?

And you can use custom bar types in Backtests as well.

I look forward to assisting you further.
        Attached Files

Comment

Took me a while to figure it out.

I have some code on the machine that was causing the issue (not my code), but I fixed it and now it displays the optimizer panel.

Thanks.

P.S. It won't run the optimizer because of the message that there is nothing to optimize, but I'll read a few posts to see if I can find the reason for this.

Thanks,

Leroy

Comment

Hello Leroy,

Thank you for your response.