Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Identifying Swings

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Identifying Swings

I am new to NinjaScript.

I wish to identify a higher low in a falling market. For example:

if(SwingLow(5)[1] > SwingLow(5)[2]));

Is there some way to identify the last instance quicker than by it’s strength (number of bars before and after)? Even risking a false turn.?

I have seen reference to using ticks etc but I can’t find any example.

Hello,

Since SwingLow() should return a data series, you should be able to use HighestBar() and LowestBar() to find the highest and lowest bar in the data series. You can then save the bar number in a variable, and update the bar number if HighestBar() or LowestBar() returns a new number on future calls to OnBarUpdate().

For more information on HighestBar() and LowestBar(), please see the links below:
    http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/h...highestbar.htm
    http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/h...?lowestbar.htm

Please let me know if I can assist further.
    Dave I.NinjaTrader Product Management

Comment

Thanks Dave, I will give that a try!

Comment

Dave, I understand your suggestion and am trying to learn enough to carry it out.
        I found example in the help file how to assign a variable to dataseries and initialize same but I have no idea and can find no example for getting SwingLow to return a dataseries. Can you give me nudge here? Thanks.

Comment

Hello,

I may have been mistaken about SwingLow() returning a dataseries. Is this a custom indicator that you are using, or are you using Swing().SwingLow[]?

Comment

Your question gave me an idea to explore. I will get back to you.

Comment