Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

NinjaTrader + CQG data

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

NinjaTrader + CQG data

Hi, i have a subscription to CQG brokerage and CQG data api.

1) i have strategy that uses the DOM book to make decisions, can i access the full dom through NT? (i know i can through cgq api)

I can see there is a OnMarketDepth and MarketDepthEventArgs, but i can't see how to access the DOM (for example 3 levels higher than best current ask)

2) i want to record the DOM at the highest frequency to create my own hostorical data with bid/ask/volume for the full dom. CQG has a "ondomchanged" event, is the ontick even the highest frequency event in NT, if so what is triggering this?

Thanks and regards.

Hello pipsalottle,

Thank you for your post.

1. Yes, please take a look at the example at the following link for calling market depth: http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/f...ead.php?t=3478

2. A change to market depth would not necessarily be a new tick. And you can use OnMarketData() as well for changes that are not the last tick.

Comment

CQG API vs NT

Pipsalottle, may I expand on your question a little?

I am also using CQG's integrated client and using their API for various algo projects, but I'm very much interested in what NT can offer and if there are any significant advantages/disadvantages between the two!?

My main issues with CQG IC & API is the support documentation is very limited, and I'm often experiencing lengthy delays in getting (somewhat limited) responses from their customer support. The IC is also a premium product with a premium price to match!